The Five Love Languages

There are so many different ways to express love – so why not learn your love language?

Here at Fumble, we’re constantly talking about communication.

There are a ton of different ways to communicate with the people around you, and that goes beyond speaking English.

So, what about the language of love?

This isn’t just about sexual and romantic relationships. It’s also about all your friendships, family relationships, and connections.

There are many different ways to communicate love, and if you are expressing love in a different way to another person, they may not understand.

It’s easy to think of your own way of showing love as ‘normal’, but our brains are all wired differently! Different people prefer different love languages.

Learning about your own preferred communication, as well as other people’s, can go a long way in understanding one another.

To find out how you’re speaking the language of love, you can take the quiz here and read up about the five different love languages:

1. Words of Affirmation 

This love language is all about words, rather than action.

People with this love language respond to unsolicited compliments and words of appreciation.

I love you” is important, and the spoken reasons behind the love even more so. Kind, encouraging and heartfelt words mean the world.

This also means that insults and unkind words are shattering and not quickly forgotten.

2. Physical Touch 

As it says on the tin, this is the touchy feel-y love language.

It doesn’t have to be romantic or sexual.

Hugs, touches to the arms and pats on the back all express love towards another person; in turn, they feel the love when this is reciprocated.

Physical presence and accessibility is needed.

This also means that neglect or abuse is destructive to a person.

3. Quality Time

This love language is all about full, undivided attention.

Rather than words and physical touch, nothing says “I care for you” more than being completely there for this person.

That means TV off, phone away, and no multi-tasking.

Spending uninterrupted time talking or engaging in an activity together communicates love.

This means that failing to listen, distractions or half-given attention can be particularly hurtful.

4. Acts of Service 

This love language is all about helping out and supporting someone.

Easing someone’s responsibilities and actively helping out will speak a volume of love.

“Let me do that for me” or “let me help you with that” says “I love you” for speakers of this love language.

It’s about someone serving out of love, rather than obligation.

That means that broken commitments, laziness or creating more work for them is hurtful. It says that their feelings don’t matter.

5. Gifts 

The perfect gift can say everything words and hugs can’t for this particular love language.

It isn’t about materialism or money. It’s about the love, consideration and effort that goes into the gift or gesture.

For speakers of this love language, receiving a gift or gesture says that they are cared for and loved. They symbolise heartfelt affection.

This means that a missed birthday or a thoughtless gift hurts a lot, as well as the lacking of everyday gestures.

That’s the five! Learning more about your own love language as well as others’ can greatly strengthen communication.

So read up and let the love flourish!

Read More

11 Hilariously Awkward Tales of Unrequited Love